How to Create a Capsule Wardrobe: The Basics

Ladies, have you ever stopped to look at your closet and maybe noticed that you wear the same things over and over? Or, have you noticed that all of your clothes look the same; maybe they’re all the same color? Well, if your answer to these questions is “yes” then I have a fun, yet challenging, suggestion for you.

You should try creating a capsule wardrobe!

Never heard of a capsule wardrobe? Well, put simply, it’s a collection of a set number of essential items that don’t go out of fashion. The idea became popular when Donna Karan, in 1985, released a capsule collection of seven interchangeable work-wear pieces. During my time working at DKNY, we referred to this as the “7 easy pieces.”

But, your capsule wardrobe can consist of as many items as you’d like. Susie Faux, who coined the term ‘capsule wardrobe,’ suggested that a woman’s collection contain a few basic pieces such as two trousers, a skirt, a jacket, two pairs of shoes, etc.

DSC_0471

 

Here are my rules for creating a capsule wardrobe.

  1. Choose essential and classic items in neutral colors
  2. Choose quality over price
  3. Don’t invest in trends that won’t cross over the seasons
  4. Don’t choose items that don’t layer easily
  5. If you’re into color, choose tops in a few of your favorite colors. And add color with accessories.
  6. I personally would include at least 30 items in a capsule collection.

DSC_0478

DSC_0506

So, I wanted to do a test of my own. (Click here to watch my capsule wardrobe challenge video.) I personally challenged myself to choose seven items from my closet that I would mix and match for seven days. These outfits were more of office wear and consisted of  basic colors. My seven items did not include shoes or accessories because although I like to wear basic colors, I wanted my accessories to add some character.

DSC_0479

DSC_0501

 

What I found was that I wear the same belt almost every time I wear pants that require a belt. I also interchanged the same shoes over and over again because they are my favorites and the most comfortable. It was very eye-opening to see how many items I don’t care for or even think to put on. My first choices are always very basic colors and styles. I like the color pink and stripes seem to be pretty universal. This challenge taught me that more than half the items in my closet are surely useless to me.

DSC_0509

DSC_0523

The aim of creating a capsule wardrobe is not to buy more items, but instead to get rid of items that are pointlessly sitting in your closet and taking up space. Creating a capsule wardrobe is especially beneficial to people who may not have a very big closet, someone who would like to commit to shopping less, or maybe someone who knows that they rotate the same pieces of clothing often. As Susie Faux states, “Buy fewer, better quality clothes you’ll wear more often.” It may seem challenging, but the result is so rewarding. More money in my pocket, less clutter in my closet.

I hope that you all have enjoyed this post. Comment and tell me if you’ve ever tried creating a capsule wardrobe.

Untile next time…

Leave a Reply

